RIP XR6600

Yes, my Brother XR6600 is no longer safe to use. The needle bar keeps slanting forward so the needle hits the stitchplate, snaps, and once hit me in the eye. Thankfully it was the needle end didn’t go in my eye, but it was close enough to put me on alert.

So I’m back on the Toyota 21DES and my goodness doesn’t it feel basic by comparison! If only I were a millionaire (come on Premium Bond!)! Then I could buy a Bernina. But sadly, employment itself if a dream at the moment. Sigh. (I have a job interview on Thursday, though, Here’s hoping.)

While I am of course grateful to have a sewing machine at all, not being able to change the stitch width and length is like only being able to walk with steps that are so long. It feels very stunting.

One thing I have found on this machine is that it’s foot pressure is greater than on the Brother (whose accessories I have saved. Thank goodness they both use the same bobbins!) I suppose this means that I can sew single layers of cotton without their sliding around, or my having to attach my Janome even-feed rotary foot.

Sewing’s just not as fun when you have to go back to a basic sewing machine after you’ve good used to one with more features. Sigh…

4 thoughts on “RIP XR6600

  1. Oh you have my sympathies! I live in Southeast Asia and accidentally plugged my much loved Viking into the wrong voltage and blew it up. I cried. Thankfully, we found one just like it on Craiglist and with the help of friends and family, it was purchased in Arkansas, sent to MN, checked out by my sewing machine guy and sent to me. It took a few months, but now I can sew again! I understand the feeling of being able to “sew” but not being able to SEW. it's just not the same without your “baby.”

    Also, I LOVED your post about solving tension issues. I have been sewing for a gazillion years but somehow never knew the bit about thicker fabrics needing a higher tension. Thank you! I'm recommending your blog to my Quilt and Craft group!

    Like

Leave a Reply

