Progress on the Toile

Today (after cycling to the shop to buy some things I need for London) I worked nearly non-stop on the toile. I noticed yesterday that the pattern had some issues, the chief of which I hope that I have now cleared up. The main issue was with the vortex, whose circles did not match where they ought to have done. If you would like to see what my pattern looks like, here is a screenshot (I do most of my pattern work on Illustrator now):

I will notch things when I've printed them - it's easier that way.
I will notch things when I’ve printed them – it’s easier that way.

You may notice that I have not used much labelling. Well, it’s just for me to use, and I can work out what everything is, so I didn’t waste my short time on something unimportant. I have, however, colour coded the vortex patterns: pink for front, and blue for back. I’d have used a colour beginning with “f” for the front, but all that came to mind was “fuchsia” and this is close enough for my purposes.

This is the dress so far:

Vortex Dress Toile Front

Vortex Dress Toile Side Vortex Dress Toile 3/4 view Vortex Dress Toile BackYes, they are supermarket carrier bags bursting out of the back of the dress. I would have used bags from a clothes shop, but one of the consequences of not buying clothes is that you don’t get bags from such shops. Why are there bags bursting out, you ask? The dress is about the wastefulness of consumerism (yes, this is coming from a fashion student), so good things go in at the front, and rubbish comes out at the back.

Now I only have to make the real dress (and it’s fabric), finish my boards, design book and sketchbook before Friday. And pack for London. No stress. 😳

Until next time,

Sabrina

 

Leave a Reply

