How to Make a Saddle Cover from a Bag-for-Life

cover image for how to make a saddle cover 2
This is a quick and easy project. I made my saddle cover this afternoon because my old one has holes in it, which renders it somewhat less useful as a way to keep my saddle dry.

You can download the pattern for free here in A4 and here in Letter size. It is ‘to cut on the fold’ because the pattern is wider than a sheet of paper and I thought it would be easier this way.

You Will Need:

  • A bag-for-life
  • 34cm of 9mm wide elastic
  • Sewing machine
  • Scissors (not your fabric scissors)
  • Sewing kit
  • A ball point pen for drawing on the bag

Helpful notes:

  • Use a long stitch length. I used about 3mm, but 4mm would have been better, especially when sewing the elastic on.
  • If you would like to make a saddle cover from something other than a grocery bag, the gusset is 78cm wide (plus 2cm seam allowance) by 8cm deep (including seam allowance.
  • Pins probably won’t help and may rip the plastic.

 

Step One: Cutting out

Once you have printed your pattern lay it on a bag-for-life (a tough grocery bag) and draw round it. I used my old saddle cover cut up as a pattern so I had to add seam allowances. If you are using your half-pattern, mark the fold lines and flip it over to complete it.

Cut off the bottom 8cm of the bag to make the gusset. Trim off one of the side seams.

Saddle cover from grocery bag

Step Two: Sew the gusset to the top

Starting at the CB, sew the gusset to the top until you get to the CF, or a little before if you like. Then sew the other side.

Saddle cover from bag-for-life: gusset to top

Step Three: Join the ends

When you get to the CF, match up the ends of the gusset and sew the CF seam. Then trim it down to a 1cm seam allowance.

Saddle cover from grocery bag

Step Four: Prepare and attach the elastic

Cut 34cm of elastic. That includes a 1cm seam allowance/overlap at each end. Divide it and the gusset into quarters with a pen.

Saddle cover from bag-for-life

Starting at the CB, start sewing the elastic on just to secure it. Then, holding the gusset taut at the back of the needle, and stretching the elastic to match the next mark, sew the elastic to the gusset.

Then turn the elastic to the inside and sew it in place there. This gives a nicer finish. I have an extra line of stitching because when I turned the elastic under the first time I didn’t catch it in the stitching. 🙂

Saddle cover from bag-for-life

And you’re done!

There you have your saddle cover: a practical, eco-friendly sewing project for your bike.

How to make a Saddle cover from bag-for-life

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Saddle Cover from a Bag-for-Life

  1. Hi
    Haven’t heard from your blog in ages. In fact, I thought to visit today because I haven’t received any emails from you in a while, and i wanted to check out your blog. I follow you through email but perhaps there haven’t been any email updates?

    On a side not, you’ve had some nice changes here. Loved your little star design, although I’m soooooo not petite….(in fact I am shaped very much like a potato….but I am a nice potato ;)….) I wish you all the best :).

    Like

    1. Hi Hadiyah,

      It’s nice to hear from you! 🙂 I don’t know why you haven’t had any emails; they come to my email address, but I don’t know how WordPress works internally. Are you subscribed to the Blogger blog (same content, different website)?

      Thank you so much for your kind words. It’s things like that that put the stars in the sky. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

