Taking your sewing skills to the next level

There comes a time when you run out of ‘basic’ sewing skills or pattern making skills to learn, and you are hungry for more. But look for “Advanced Sewing” or “Sewing Level 2” books, and you’ll be hard pressed to find any. Heaven help you if you are in that spot with pattern cutting. And don’t suppose that a degree will teach you. That is not a given.

What to do next

To advance your sewing skills you could take up the following leads:

  • Pattern Cutting
  • Tailoring
  • Lingerie
  • Dancewear
  • Reverse engineer your clothes
  • Fashion Incubator

Pattern Cutting

If you’re not already making your own patterns, what are you waiting for?!

It doesn’t really matter what system you use to draft your blocks (although I like Metric Pattern Cutting by Aldrich) because you’ll need to fit them anyway. Even if you make a block to your personal measurements, you’re probably a different shape and will have to adjust. But once you’ve done that, you can draft whatever you want!

If you’re grading from a dress block to a jacket block, or jeans to panties, there are things you need to learn or figure out. But that’s all part of the fun!

I really wouldn’t go back to commercial patterns now because I’m so hard to fit to. I’d much rather design and draft my own and know what I’m altering.

Tailoring

This is on my to-do list. You can use pattern cutting and industrial techniques to get shape, or you can use classical tailoring. I’d suggest learning both.

Lingerie

This one is also about building shape, but more in that it matches yours, rather than has its own. You’ll learn about taking precise measurements and sewing with precision, and with stretch fabrics. You don’t need an overlocker. I like sewing lingerie (well, underwear, as mine is currently very basic) on my sewing machine.

Dancewear

This sort of follows on from lingerie in concept, but you can do it without having sewn lingerie. Someone I know taught herself to sew dance wear for her little girl because of the cost of dance wear (the child is pretty much professional and costumes are necessarily plentiful). You will need an overlocker, I think, because the fabrics have so much stretch. I intend to ask my friend for tips when I get round to dance wear.

Fashion Incubator

I’m not affiliated, I just love this website. Sewing the way professionals do is the only way to get really professional results, if you ask me. Look up the tutorials on zips.

Pattern Scissors Cloth

Her tutorial on RTW tailoring is second to none. She has ones on sewing slips and things too. She’s a professional pattern cutter and therefore incredibly cool and knows how to make things well. Go and learn!

Those are my suggestions for moving beyond the basics. That list can keep you going for years! 🙂

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.